Be a Supporter!

SkatingIsGeneticSkatingIsGenetic

Main News Audio Favorites Reviews Stats 21 Fans
Follow SkatingIsGenetic

Contact Info / Websites

383 audio Reviews with Responses


[AR] Planet and Alogia [AR] Planet and Alogia

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

Mhm...

There's just something about it.

Everytime I hear one of your laid-back tracks, I mentally force myself to become one with it.

To dive within the soundwaves and lose my grip on reality.

I close my mind and let your music do the thinking for me. ;)

I'm going to make sure that I reward myself with your album.

You're still my favorite artist on NG.

(Like that will ever change)


Lapse responds:

It's fucking great that you can sink so deep into my sound. There are times i'd like to hear my own music without knowing it's mine. I'd like to hear something I've done and erase all memory of me even doing it, then have a listen and see how I'd feel. Let me know how you felt about the album - Your thoughts are always welcome!

Your favorite? Yer too kind :P


My Mind Began To Wander My Mind Began To Wander

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2010

Hm....

This song has a lot of emotion in it.

Feels as if you're watching yourself drift away, not wanting to, but realizing that you have no choice but to.

Hm...

You did a great job of rendering the vocals in the beginning of the song. That is what caught my ear more than anything. Although this entire track is very nice.

:)


People find this review helpful!
Lapse responds:

Thank you. Wish I could have given this a proper finish. Tightened and cleared things up, added some things. The minimal vibe's alright though. Glad to find and share this. Some of these things only I've ever listened to - made, listened, filed away.

I'm glad you like it. It's good to see you hanging around NGs, too.


Terraformer Terraformer

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 17, 2010

Feel myself moving inside my own skin.

... Really like.

Wow.

Constructive criticism? I wish I had some to give but...

Haha. Just keep doing what you're doing.

You do it oh so well.


People find this review helpful!
Lapse responds:

:)

Thank you kindly, (as always) Miss.


zelda theme dance remix zelda theme dance remix

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

Niceness.

Nice! I really like the route you took with this! Especially the key and use of synths! A few things..

Master: Well yeah. I can't say much about that because I suck at that too.

Synths holding the Zelda main melody: I think there is too much reverb on them. The notes are running into each other.

The synth solo: I like it, but at one point it clashes with the synths in the background (00:40 - 00:41).

And this is a trance version. Where's the bass?! :D If you use boo bass, try and increase the bass on it, and possible adding bass booster (with additional tweakage). And try and find a heavier kick (or use the same kick you have), and experiment with some FL effects to give it a deeper, more penetrating sound.

Overall, not bad!


i9incher responds:

yeah i might re-release this as a more polished version later on.


The rise of - The rise of -

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 1, 2010

Suspenseful!

I absolutely loved the chaotic intro with the glissando leading into the main theme. The woodblock (I think) was a nice touch. The beginning held suspense, and then at 00:49, the chords opened up.

At that part, the climax it seems, I wish there was more bass (aside from the synth, not sure, that is playing sixteenth notes.) When it came I was waiting for a gorge of low brass to simply encompass the strings and the horns. Alas, it was not so, but still, an amazing piece none the less.


Tomppaah responds:

I'm happy to hear that you liked it! :D But huh? What woodblock? ;)

Aah, I think you gave me a brilliant idea there. I'll see if I can throw in more lower register brass to give it a more sinister feeling.

Thanks for your comments Skating! Always great to hear from you. :)


House on fire House on fire

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 31, 2010

Garage, so much fun.

In my opinion, this seems like a vdieogame loop. For like a space game of sorts.

Some parts come in at odd parts, like at 00:48. The beat came in at an awkward time.
At 1:22 you brought in the synth which was a really nice touch. It gave the song a full and more directed feeling.

I loved the bass above all else. Not bad! I enjoyed it. :D


People find this review helpful!
Bomberzocker responds:

thx for feedback.
I listend 5 times to ~00:48 and I think it would sound odd if the beat would start at 00:48.
I'd improve this song when someone gives me a hint, what I can improve, but at this point I don't agree with you ;-)
EDIT: years later I changed my opition and I want to re-make this song. I agree that some part are terrible.


Frostbitten Heart [Downtempo] Frostbitten Heart [Downtempo]

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 5, 2010

Down-tempo. <3

I really liked the song, but there was one aspect that was killing the overall feel for me.

The clap/snare steady beat that comes in the beginning.

Put some reverb on it or something. You have this aqueous synth in the back, which is later met by a liquidated bass feel, and you have this dry snare clap mushing the sound of the overall piece.

Not bad, besides that.


People find this review helpful!
Kamunt responds:

I have some reverb on it already, but I guess it's true what they say--you can never have much reverb. x3 Thanks for the kind words.


Empire Love Empire Love

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 9, 2010

Dude..

The intro pad melody had my mind bugging man..

So many ideas came to mind.

The chimes were a nice added touch and I'm glad when you added the piano in there.

Me personally, I wish you had given the piano a deeper and more defined melody.

I can hear that the drums are a piece de la FL. That's cool, I'm still using a lot of FL originals. I'm trying to branch out and get some vsts.
But all in all this is mad chill, and I like it.

It loops pretty well too!


People find this review helpful!
MrEmpire responds:

thanks mane I kinda got a little lost with it, thanks for the comments man!


Document- 2 Document- 2

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 24, 2009

Dude..

This is a really chill groove.

It's set back is that fact that not everything is on beat with one another.

It seems as if some things are coming in too early and is throwing the song off a bit.

But this is a nice beat.


NeeKe responds:

Thanks... I have to work on that.


SpacEctacy SpacEctacy

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 24, 2009

My review..

..won't be as informative as DjDekail, mainly because I seem to be suffereing from the same thing you do.

You're not a bad musician by any means, all of your melodies flow together very well and listening i can understand that musically, you KNOW what you're doing.

It's eq'ing, mastering, and a lack of understanding of the genre that sets you behind. And even so, you're not bad, but not potentially your best.

Because I'm the same way.

But just to rebute your quote.


MegaMidget7 responds:

ok done deal...before making my next song...ill stude the make up of a true techno song... thanks for the advice. Ill look foward to hearing from you again XD